Whales in Réunion

The history of whales in Réunion

Each year during thesouthern winter between June and September, the humpback whales visit the Reunionese and Reunionese by going up from the southern seas to take advantage of a more favorable water temperature. A meeting full of emotions where cetaceans come to reproduce and give birth to their young along the west coast of Reunion Island.

whale-reunion-island

 

Whales and Reunion, it's a beautiful novel, it's a beautiful story

Victims of intensive poaching and the degradation of their habitat, whales no longer showed themselves in Reunion's waters. Some elders still had images in their memory that the younger ones ended up doubting. Then in the early 2000s, they put the tips of their fins back on.

 

The beautiful story between the whales and the meeting resonates again and surely for a long time to come thanks to the tremendous work of several associations, local actors and service providers to raise public awareness on the protection of cetaceans. There is also an approach charter for whales, dolphins and turtles defined by prefectural decrees.

whale-reunion-island

 

Where can you see whales in Réunion?

With your feet on the ground, along the shore to the west of the island, you will notice the majestic jumps of this graceful marine animal. The most popular observation spots are:

 

  • the Cap la Houssaye at sunset between Saint-Paul and Boucan Canot;
  • Pointe au Sel, the closest to the whales between Saint-Leu and Étang-Salé;
  • the little frequented Cap Homard between Boucan Canot and Saint-Gilles;
  • the Piton Grande Anse in the town of Petite-Ile.

whale-reunion-island

 

How to observe whales in Reunion?

With your head in the clouds, aboard a paraglider, an ULM or a helicopter, you can observe the touching spectacle of a whale and its calf moving together in the waves of the Indian Ocean. We advise you Helilagon

 

At sea in the front row, during a boat trip or for the more adventurous, the launch in order to enjoy a magical and privileged moment with this giant of marine life. If you choose this option, find out beforehand about the regulations to follow. We advise you Scubanas

Finally by practicing scuba diving to get as close as possible to the whales and keep an extraordinary memory of your stay on Reunion Island. We advise you Scubanas

Discover all the activities available on Reunion Island

 

 

 

whale-reunion-island




Keywords

Whale | cetacea | Island | Meeting | Ocean | Indian


Photos & Videos Credits

Pictures: idlr97460

Advertisement



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*





Advertisement





Advertisement



Companies in Reunion



Advertisement



More on Reunion

Les baleines à la Réunion

L’histoire des baleines à la Réunion

Chaque année pendant l’hiver austral entre juin et septembre, les baleines à bosses rendent visite aux Réunionnais et Réunionnaises en remontant des mers du sud pour profiter d’une température de l’eau plus favorable. Un rendez-vous plein d’émotions où les cétacés viennent se reproduire et mettre au monde leurs petits le long de la côte Ouest de l’ile de la Réunion.

baleine-ile-de-la-reunion

 

Les baleines et la Réunion, c’est un beau roman, c’est une belle histoire

Victimes du braconnage intensif et de la dégradation de leur habitat, les baleines ne se montraient plus dans les eaux réunionnaises. Quelques aînés avaient encore des images en mémoire dont les plus jeunes finissaient par douter. Puis au début des années 2000, elles ont remontré le bout de leurs nageoires.

La belle histoire entre les baleines et la Réunion résonne à nouveau et sûrement pour longtemps grâce au formidable travail de plusieurs associations, acteurs locaux et prestataires pour sensibiliser le public sur la protection des cétacés. Il existe d’ailleurs une charte d’approche des baleines, dauphins et tortues définie par des arrêtés préfectoraux.

baleine-ile-de-la-reunion

 

Où peut-on voir les baleines à la Réunion ?

Les pieds sur terre, le long du rivage à l’ouest de l’ile, vous remarquerez les sauts majestueux de ce gracieux animal marin. Les spots d’observation les plus appréciés sont :

le Cap la Houssaye au coucher de soleil entre Saint-Paul et Boucan Canot ;
la Pointe au Sel, le plus proche des baleines entre Saint-Leu et l’Étang-Salé ;
le Cap Homard peu fréquenté entre Boucan Canot et Saint-Gilles ;
le Piton Grande Anse de la commune Petite-Ile.

baleine-ile-de-la-reunion

 

Comment observer les baleines à la Réunion ?

La tête dans les nuages, à bord d’un parapente, d’un ULM ou d’un hélicoptère, vous pourrez observer le spectacle attendrissant d’une baleine et de son baleineau évoluant ensemble dans les vagues de l’océan Indien. Nous vous conseillons Helilagon

En mer aux première loges, lors d’une promenade en bateau ou pour les plus téméraires, la mise à l’eau afin de profiter d’un instant magique et privilégié avec ce géant de la faune marine. Si vous choisissez cette option, informez-vous au préalable de la réglementation à suivre. Nous vous conseillons Scubanas

Enfin en pratiquant la plongée sous-marine pour aller au plus proche des baleines et garder un souvenir hors du commun de votre séjour à l’ile de la Réunion. Nous vous conseillons Scubanas

Découvrez toutes les activités disponibles à l’ile de la Réunion

 

 

 

baleine-ile-de-la-reunion


Mots clés

Baleine | cétacée | Ile | Réunion | Ocean | Indien


Crédits Photos & Vidéos

Photos: idlr97460

Annonces



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*