The dishes and dishes of Réunion

The dishes and dishes of Reunion Island, Like its cultural mix, Reunionese cuisine finds its inspiration in the combination of gastronomic specialties of each community. French, Chinese, Indian and African culinary products and techniques have joined forces to give birth to Creole cuisine. The different spices combine to form the typical dishes of Reunion Island mainly based on rice. Let your senses travel, let yourself be carried away by the exotic flavors that explode in the mouth. Take advantage of the traditional Sunday picnics on furnished areas and simmer your pot of curry or rougail over a wood fire. A real moment of sharing and relaxation in the life of Reunion Islanders. Discover some examples of the most emblematic dishes of the intense island.

 



rougail Sausage

rougail Sausage

Rougail sausage is the most representative dish in the cuisine of Reunion Island. Simple and economical, it only requires a few products as long as you follow the authentic recipe. Plain or smoked, fresh pork sausages, that is to say smoked, tomatoes, onions and a little olive oil. The rougail sausage will be accompanied like most Reunion dishes by white rice, saffron rice or zembrocal, a mixture of white rice, potato and turmeric, saffron from Reunion. It is a complete and substantial dish, ideal for calming the stomachs of the most greedy and it is nonetheless tasty for the most demanding palates. On your forks! Rougail Sausage Recipe

Curry Ti Jack smoked by Chef Kelly

In her program “voyages et délices”, the starred Reunionese chef Kelly Rangama likes to reinvent the recipes of traditional cuisine. She has decided to make your mouth water by revisiting a typical dish from Reunion Island, the curry ti'jacques boucané in a gazpacho version. At the bottom of a deep plate stands the gazpacho, a mixture of mixed tomatoes, onions, garlic and saffron. After having dried the thin slices of smoked bacon in the oven, Kelly crushes them and sprinkles them over the soup, bringing a unique smoky taste. Without forgetting the main ingredient, the ti'jacques sosso, jackfruit fruit which is here used as a vegetable cooked in a stewed, spread on a toast of bread and placed on the edge of the plate. A real treat ! Ti-Jack Curry Recipe

Curry Ti Jack smoked by Chef Kelly
Cabri Massalé

Cabri Massalé

The cabri massalé, of Indian origin, is one of the most popular dishes in Réunion. It is one of the flagship recipes of the Tamil New Year and represented one of the specialties of the Reunionese chef Christian Antou. Mixture of many spices, goat or goat meat, tomatoes stewed with massalé and turmeric, this dish must simmer for at least an hour before you can enjoy it at its true value. It is then served with its Creole rice and accompanied by a spicy tomato rougail according to your tastes and desires. For the training and in order to respect the tradition until the end, the goat massalé is presented in a banana leaf and is eaten with the fingers. Enjoy your meal ! Cabri Massalé recipe

Chicken Curry

Chicken curry is the most common dish in Reunion, along with sausage rougail. Its preparation is easy and tasty, enough to satisfy the people who cook it and those who taste it. On the intense island, the base of the curry is meat or fish simmered with tomato, onion, pei saffron, garlic and thyme. To serve it properly, we have the rice, then on top of the legumes such as white beans or Cilaos lentils and to finish the curry. For those who wish, a rougail, a spicy accompanying sauce not to be confused with the rougail dish, is served separately. It's up to you to add some to your chicken curry! Chicken Curry Recipe

Chicken Curry
Civet Zourit

Civet Zourit

On Reunion Island, the zourite is a young octopus that hides in the lagoons of the coast. You will also hear of zourite civet, the term civet being used in Reunion Island when adding wine in the preparation of the curry. If the recipe is rather simple to make, cleaning the octopus gives a little more trouble. Its tentacles are covered in mucus that is difficult to remove, and its flesh will need to be tenderized to become tasty. Zourite stew consists of pieces of octopus, onions, garlic, tomatoes, turmeric and thyme. All accompanied of course by rice and a green mango or tomato rougail which goes well with the zourite. Good tasting ! Civet Zourit recipe

Smoked rougail

A little less well-known than its big brother the sausage rougail, the boucané rougail remains a delicious and typical dish of Reunion Island. Smoked meat means that it has been prepared and smoked. It is passed in a mixture of salt, thyme, pepper, cloves and nutmeg which rests overnight, then it is smoked over a wood fire hung in a specific cabinet for 24 hours. The trick is to combine fatty and lean smoked meat which will provide different textures. The other ingredients are those of the Rougail dish, tomatoes, onions and a little olive oil. Some add garlic and turmeric, which always launches eternal debates on the preparation of traditional Reunionese rougail. Rougail Boucané recipe

Smoked rougail
Bichique curry

Bichique curry

The bichique is a seasonal freshwater fry very popular on Reunion Island. This small fish with an inimitable taste is also very expensive and increasingly rare due to overfishing. On the intense island, the bichique is nicknamed the pei caviar. Delicacy is the best ally for a successful bichique curry, the fry are cooked whole and must not break during mixing or serving to retain all their aromas. You should add the usual curry products, chopped onions and tomatoes, crushed garlic, as well as thyme and pei saffron. Served with its essential rice, Reunionese like to accompany it with a green mango rougail, but you can choose from the many variations of rougail. Bichique curry recipe

Camaron curry

Camaron curry from Reunion Island is particularly sought after during the Christmas holidays. Camaron, a large freshwater tiger prawn with firm flesh, reveals all its character thanks to garlic, pepper and ginger. This is very good since these ingredients are part of Reunion Island curry and although ginger is optional in the original curry recipes, it will harmonize perfectly with the camaron. It only remains to add the tomatoes, onions, thyme and turmeric. And the final step, proceed with the ritual of dressing, white or yellow rice, grains, beans or even Cape peas and curry. Set aside a lemon rougail. Treat yourself ! Recipe for Camaron Curry or Shrimp Curry

Camaron curry
Cary Pork Potato

Cary Pork Potato

With the pork potato curry, we are still using the basic Reunionese curry recipe with one small exception, the tomatoes. And yes, there are no tomatoes in this dish, enough to satisfy the defenders of “lontan” Creole cuisine (from the past). The tomato was invited quite recently in the Reunion Island curry. Following the evolution of the standard of living and the techniques of production, this fruit is found all year round on the intense island in self-sufficiency. We will therefore find pork, if possible a fairly fatty piece such as the shoulder for example, potatoes, onion, garlic, thyme and turmeric. The curry will be placed on its bed of grains and rice. To devour without moderation! Pork Curry Potato Recipe

Find other recipes from Reunion Island in our blog

Les plats et mets de l’île de la Réunion

À l’image de sa mixité culturelle, la cuisine réunionnaise trouve son inspiration dans la combinaison des spécialités gastronomiques de chaque communauté. Produits et techniques culinaires françaises, chinoises, indiennes ou encore africaines se sont alliés pour donner naissance à la cuisine créole. Les différentes épices se marient pour former les plats typiques de l’île de la Réunion principalement à base de riz. Laissez voyager vos sens, laissez-vous emporter par les saveurs exotiques qui explosent en bouche. Profitez des traditionnels pique-niques du dimanche sur des aires aménagées et faites mijoter votre marmite de cari ou de rougail au feu de bois. Un vrai moment de partage et de détente dans la vie des Réunionnais. Découvrez quelques exemples des plats les plus emblématiques de l’île intense.



Rougail Saucisse

Rougail Saucisse

Le rougail saucisse est le plat le plus représentatif dans la cuisine de l’île de la Réunion. Simple et économique, il ne nécessite que quelques produits pour peu que vous respectiez la recette authentique. Des saucisses fraîches de porc natures ou boucanées, c'est-à-dire fumées, des tomates, des oignons et un peu d’huile d’olive. Le rougail saucisse sera accompagné comme la majorité des plats réunionnais par du riz blanc, du riz safrané ou du zembrocal, un mélange de riz blanc, de pomme de terre et de curcuma, le safran de la Réunion. C’est un mets complet et consistant, idéal pour caler les estomacs des plus gourmands et il n’en reste pas moins savoureux pour les palais les plus exigeants. À vos fourchettes !

Cary Ti Jack boucané par Chef Kelly

Dans son émission “voyages et délices”, la chef réunionnaise étoilée Kelly Rangama aime réinventer les recettes de la cuisine traditionnelle. Elle a décidé de vous donner l’eau à la bouche en revisitant un plat typique de l’île de la Réunion, le cari ti’jacques boucané en version gaspacho. Au fond d’une assiette creuse se dresse le gaspacho, mélange de tomates, oignons, ails et safran péi mixés. Après avoir séché les fines tranches de lard boucanées au four, Kelly les écrase et en saupoudre le potage venant apporter un goût fumé unique. Sans oublier l’ingrédient principal, le ti’jacques sosso, fruit du jacquier qui est ici utilisé comme légume cuit en compotée, étalé sur un toast de pain et déposé au bord de l’assiette. Un vrai régal !

Cary Ti Jack boucané par Chef Kelly
Cabri Massalé

Cabri Massalé

Le cabri massalé, d’origine indienne, compte parmi les plats les plus appréciés à la Réunion. Il fait partie des recettes phares du nouvel an tamoul et représentait une des spécialités du chef Réunionnais Christian Antou. Mélange de nombreuses épices, de viande de chèvre ou de bouc, de tomates compotées avec du massalé et du curcuma, ce plat doit mijoter une heure au minimum avant de pouvoir l’apprécier à sa juste valeur. Il est ensuite servi avec son riz créole et accompagné d’un rougail tomate pimenté selon vos goûts et vos envies. Pour le dressage et afin de respecter la tradition jusqu’au bout, le cabri massalé se présente dans une feuille de banane et se mange avec les doigts. Bon appétit !

Cary poulet

Le cari poulet est le plat le plus répandu à la Réunion avec le rougail saucisse. Sa préparation est facile et goûteuse, de quoi contenter les personnes qui le cuisinent et celles qui le dégustent. Sur l’île intense, la base du cari correspond à une viande ou un poisson mijoté avec de la tomate, de l’oignon, du safran péi, de l’ail et du thym. Pour le servir dans les règles de l’art, on dispose le riz, puis par-dessus les légumineuses comme des haricots blancs ou des lentilles de Cilaos et pour finir le cari. Pour ceux qui le souhaitent, un rougail, sauce d’accompagnement pimentée à ne pas confondre avec le plat rougail, est servi à part. Libre à vous d’en rajouter sur votre cari poulet !

Cary poulet
Civet Zourit

Civet Zourit

Sur l’île de la Réunion, le zourite est un jeune poulpe qui se camoufle dans les lagons du littoral. Vous entendrez également parler de civet zourite, le terme civet étant utilisé à la Réunion lorsque l’on ajoute du vin dans la préparation du cari. Si la recette est plutôt simple à réaliser, le nettoyage de la pieuvre donne un peu plus de fil à retordre. Ses tentacules sont recouverts de mucus difficile à enlever et sa chair devra être attendrie pour devenir savoureuse. Le civet zourite se compose de morceaux de poulpe, d’oignons, d’ails, de tomates, de curcuma et de thym. Le tout accompagné bien évidemment de riz et d’un rougail mangue verte ou tomate qui s’accorde bien avec le zourite. Bonne dégustation !

Rougail boucané

Un peu moins connu que son grand frère le rougail saucisse, le rougail boucané reste un plat succulent et typique de l’île de la Réunion. Une viande boucanée signifie qu’elle a été préparée et fumée. Elle est passée dans un mélange de sel, de thym, de poivre, de girofle et de muscade qui repose pendant la nuit, puis elle est boucanée au feu de bois pendu dans une armoire spécifique durant 24 heures. L’astuce est d’associer de la viande boucanée grasse et maigre qui apportera différentes textures. Les autres ingrédients sont ceux du Rougail en plat, des tomates, des oignons et un peu d’huile d’olive. Certains ajoutent de l’ail et du curcuma, cela lance toujours d’éternels débats sur la préparation du rougail traditionnel réunionnais.

Rougail boucané
Cary Bichic

Cary Bichic

Le bichique est un alevin d’eau douce de saison très prisé à l’île de la Réunion. Ce petit poisson au goût inimitable est aussi très cher et de plus en plus rare du fait de la surpêche. Sur l’île intense, le bichique est surnommé le caviar péi. La délicatesse est le meilleur allié pour réussir le cari bichique, les alevins sont cuits entiers et ne doivent pas se casser pendant le mélange ou le service pour conserver tous leurs arômes. Il conviendra de mettre les produits habituels du cari, oignons et tomates émincés, ail pilé, ainsi que du thym et du safran péi. Servi avec son incontournable riz, les Réunionnais aiment l’accompagner d’un rougail mangue verte, mais vous pouvez choisir parmi les nombreuses déclinaisons de rougail.

Cary Camaron

Le cari camaron de l’île de la Réunion est particulièrement sollicité pendant la période des fêtes de Noël. Le camaron, grosse crevette tigrée d’eau douce à la chair ferme, révèle tout son caractère grâce à l’ail, au poivre et au gingembre. Cela tombe très bien puisque ces ingrédients font partie du cari réunionnais et bien que le gingembre soit optionnel dans les recettes originales de cari, il s’harmonisera parfaitement avec le camaron. Il ne reste plus qu’à lui rajouter les tomates, les oignons, le thym et le curcuma. Et l’étape finale, procéder au rituel du dressage, du riz blanc ou jaune, les grains, haricots ou encore pois du cap et le cari. Réservez à côté un rougail citron. Régalez-vous !

Cary Camaron
Cary Porc pomme de terre

Cary Porc pomme de terre

Avec le cari de porc pomme de terre, nous sommes encore sur la recette de base du cari réunionnais à une petite exception près, les tomates. Et oui, il n’y a pas de tomates dans ce plat, de quoi satisfaire les défenseurs de la cuisine créole “lontan” (d’autrefois). La tomate s’est invitée assez récemment dans le cari réunionnais. Suite à l’évolution du niveau de vie et des techniques de production, ce fruit se trouve toute l’année sur l’île intense en autosuffisance. Nous retrouverons donc, du porc, si possible un morceau assez gras comme l’épaule par exemple, des pommes de terre, de l’oignon, de l’ail, du thym et du curcuma. Le cari sera déposé sur son lit de grains et de riz. À dévorer sans modération !