Vacoas Festival

Saint-Philippe

An institution in Saint-Philippe

The holiday of vacoa, an institution in Saint-Philippe

The Reunion Island likes to put its products and its artisans on the front of the stage and what better than a party for that! In Saint-Philippe, the festival of vacoa has been held every year in August for almost 30 years. The opportunity for the Reunionese to pay tribute to one of their favorite trees which is widely present on the coast and particularly in the wild south Of the reunion.

The vacoa is in great demand for its fruits, the pimpins, it is moreover called pimpin rather than vacoa on intense island. The fruits of vacoa are used in Creole recipes in salads, in pickles, a mixture of vegetables cut into strips or in curry and they go particularly well with the smoked.

 

 

Vacoa is also very popular for its leaves which are used to weave many objects, an ancestral art whose intergenerational transmission tends to be lost. Fortunately, the holiday of vacoa highlights traditional craftsmanship. Discover the bertel, a Reunionese backpack, baskets and other tableware woven with dried vacoa leaves.

Attend the election of Miss Vacoa and Miss Mamie Vacoa, enjoy the concerts and shows dance and closely follow the radio hook to its final. 10 days of festivities and activities await you, it is also an opportunity for you to taste traditional creole dishes and discover the wild south of Reunion. Meet at Cap Méchant, one of the emblematic places of this intense region of the island.

For more than Holidays in Réunion consult our interactive map.




Photo Gallery



Category

Events

Holidays in Réunion

Featured Events


Keywords

Event | Demonstration | party | Vacoa | Saint-Philippe | Island | Meeting


Photos & Videos Credits

Pictures: Bebopeloula


Advertisement



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*





Location & contact details

Vacoas Festival

Saint-Philippe, Reunion


Itinerary for Vacoas Festival




Date & Time

Of: 08/01/2021

At: 15/08/2021


Advertisement



Prices

Free


More Events



Advertisement



More on Reunion






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Fête des Vacoas

Saint-Philippe

une institution à Saint-Philippe

La fête du vacoa, une institution à Saint-Philippe

L’île de la Réunion aime mettre ses produits et ses artisans sur le devant de la scène et quoi de mieux qu’une fête pour cela ! À Saint-Philippe, la fête du vacoa a lieu tous les ans au mois d’août depuis presque 30 ans. L’occasion pour les Réunionnais de rendre hommage à l’un de leurs arbres préférés qui est largement présent sur le littoral et particulièrement dans le Sud Sauvage de la Réunion.

Le vacoa est très demandé pour ses fruits, les pimpins, il est d’ailleurs plutôt appelé pimpin que vacoa sur l’île intense. Les fruits du vacoa sont utilisés dans les recettes créoles en salade, dans les achards, un mélange de légumes coupés en lamelles ou en cari et ils se marient particulièrement bien avec le boucané.

Le vacoa est aussi très plébiscité pour ses feuilles qui servent au tressage de nombreux objets, un art ancestral dont la transmission intergénérationnelle tend à se perdre. Heureusement, la fête du vacoa remet en lumière l’artisanat traditionnel. Découvrez le bertel, sac à dos réunionnais, les paniers et d’autres objets d’art de la table tressés avec les feuilles de vacoa séchées.

Assistez à l’élection de Miss Vacoa et Miss Mamie Vacoa, profitez des concerts et des spectacles de danse et suivez de près le radio-crochet jusqu’à sa finale. 10 jours de festivités et d’animations vous attendent, c’est aussi pour vous l’occasion de déguster des plats traditionnels créoles et de découvrir le Sud Sauvage de la Réunion. Rendez-vous au Cap Méchant, un des lieux emblématiques de cette région de l’île intense.




Gallerie Photo

Catégorie

Evènements

Fêtes à la Réunion

Featured Evènements


Mots clés

Événement | Manifestation | fete | Vacoa | Saint-Philippe | Ile | Réunion


Crédits Photos & Vidéos

Photos: Bebopeloula


Annonces



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*





Emplacement & coordonnées

Fête des Vacoas

Saint-Philippe, Réunion


Saint-Philippe, Réunion


Date & Horaire

Du: 08/01/2020

Au: 15/08/2021


Annonces



Tarifs

Gratuis


Plus d'Evènements



Plus sur la Réunion



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*