The Dipavali

St. Andrew

A burst of light in Réunion

The Dipavali, a burst of light in Réunion

Dipavali, also known as Diwali or Deepavali, is a Tamil Indian holiday celebrated around the world. Literally, “dipa” translates to light and “avali” to line and the Reunion Island being a land of crossbreeding, the Malbars, Tamil Indians from Reunion, are numerous there.

It is therefore natural that the festival of light, symbol of the victory of good over evil, takes place in October or November depending on the new moon of the month of Karthik of the Hindu calendar on the intense island.

In the meeting, The Dipavali is above all an opportunity to discover Malbars culture and traditions and of course to pay homage to the goddess Lakshmi, goddess of prosperity. Hindus come to the temple early in the morning in the hope of attracting happiness and abundance to their homes.

 

 

The cities are adorned with terracotta lamps arranged in the streets. Celebrated at St.Paul, Saint Pierre, Saint-Leu, Saint Louis and of course St. Andrew, main seat of the festivities, the Tamil festival of light The Dipavali is one of the most important Malbars festivals on Reunion Island.

During this event, it is 2 to 5 days of celebrations, parades, meals and parties for Reunionese and tourists staying on the intense island. Procession of candles carried by women in sari and men in sherwani, samosas tasting, Indian dances and music or even fireworks will punctuate these days.

Learn more about events in Réunion

For more than Holidays in Réunion consult our interactive map.




Photo Gallery



Category

Events

Holidays in Réunion

Featured Events


Keywords

Event | Demonstration | party | Dipavali | Island | Meeting


Photos & Videos Credits

Pictures: bebopeloula - lepetitdeodat - semarip


Advertisement



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*





Location & contact details

The Dipavali

Saint-André, Reunion


Itinerary for Le Dipavali




Date & Time

Of: 10/13/2021

At: 15/11/2020


Advertisement




More Events



Advertisement



More on Reunion






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Le Dipavali

Saint-André

Un éclat de lumière à la Réunion

Le Dipavali, un éclat de lumière à la Réunion

Le Dipavali, connu aussi sous le nom de Diwali ou Deepavali, est une fête indienne tamoule célébrée dans le monde entier. Littéralement, “dipa” se traduit par lumière et “avali” par ligne et l’île de la Réunion étant une terre de métissage, les Malbars, Indiens tamouls Réunionnais, y sont nombreux.

C’est donc tout naturellement que la fête de la lumière, symbole de la victoire du bien sur le mal, a lieu en octobre ou en novembre en fonction de la nouvelle lune du mois de Karthik du calendrier hindou sur l’île intense.

À la Réunion, Le Dipavali est surtout l’occasion de faire découvrir la culture et les traditions Malbars et bien sûr de rendre hommage à la déesse Lakshmi, déesse de la prospérité. Les hindous se rendent au temple tôt le matin dans l’espoir d’attirer le bonheur et l’abondance dans leur foyer.

Les villes se parent de lampes en terres cuites disposées dans les rues. Célébrée à Saint-Paul, Saint-Pierre, Saint-Leu, Saint-Louis et bien sûr Saint-André, siège principal des festivités, la fête tamoule de la lumière est l’une des plus importantes fêtes Malbars de l’île de la Réunion.

Pendant cet événement, c’est 2 à 5 jours de célébrations, de défilés, de repas et de fête pour les Réunionnais et les touristes séjournant sur l’île intense. Cortège de bougies porté par des femmes en sari et des hommes en sherwani, dégustation de samoussas, danses et musiques indiennes ou encore feu d’artifice viendront ponctuer ces journées.




Gallerie Photo

Catégorie

Evènements

Fêtes à la Réunion

Featured Evènements


Mots clés

Événement | Manifestation | fete | Dipavali | Ile | Réunion


Crédits Photos & Vidéos

Photos: bebopeloula - lepetitdeodat - semarip


Annonces



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*





Emplacement & coordonnées

Le Dipavali

Saint-André, Réunion


Saint-André, Réunion


Date & Horaire

Du: 11/13/2020

Au: 15/11/2020


Annonces




Plus d'Evènements



Plus sur la Réunion



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*